The University of Hull is a public university, founded in 1927, located in Kingston upon Hull, a city in the East Riding of Yorkshire, England. The main university campus is located in Hull and there is a smaller campus in Scarborough on the North Yorkshire coast. The main campus is home to the Hull York Medical School, a joint initiative with the University of York

The University comprises six faculties: Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences; Hull York Medical School; Faculty of Health and Social Care; Faculty of Science and Engineering; Hull University Business School; and Faculty of Education.

The University has particular research expertise in social justice, environmental technologies, maritime history, healthcare, 3D visualisation and nanotechnology – we're also known for liquid-crystal technology (for which the Department of Chemistry received the Queen’s Award for Technological Achievement). In the 2014 national Research Excellence Framework (REF), 62% of the University’s research was judged to be internationally excellent.

The National Student Survey (NSS) consistently ranks the University in the top 20 mainstream English Universities.


The 2010 International Student Barometer showed that the University continues to deliver first-class service to its international student body, with 88% of students satisfied or very satisfied with their experience here. 


Hull University Union is one of the most active students’ unions in the country, with over 150 active societies. In 2012 it was crowned ‘Higher Education Students Union of the Year’ in the NUS Awards. ‘Asylum’ is its own £3.5 million nightclub.


The University's Brynmor Jones Library and the Keith Donaldson Library boast over a million books and reiodicals. The Brynmor Jones Library was the workplace of the poet Philip Larkin who served as its Head Librarian for over thirty years. The Philip Larkin Society organises activities in remembrance of Larkin including the Larkin 25 festival which was organised during 2010 in partnership with the University. The Library was also the workplace of former poet laureate Andrew Motion. Lord Wilberforce was chancellor of the University from 1978 until 1994. 

Alumni of the University of Hull are especially prominent in the fields of politics, academia, journalism and drama. They include former MP and later Deputy Prime MinisterLord Prescott (John Prescott), former MP and Deputy Leader of the Labour Party Lord Hattersley (Roy Hattersley), politician and author Chris Mullin, social scientist Lord Giddens (Anthony Giddens), poet Roger McGough, journalist John McCarthy and film director, playwright and screenwriter Anthony Minghella.

Sat 18 Nov 2017 Learn More